Order of two flows with the same input

One Star

Order of two flows with the same input

Hey,

I'm relatively new to Talend and working with it for my master thesis. I'm struggling with a (imho) simple task which i may have a solution for but it doesn't seem pretty.
My problem: i'm extracting some data out of 2 tables from a database and then i need to pass this data to two following (parallel) flows. So i used the tReplicate component to duplicate the output. Now i need to perform the two following tasks in a specific order because the results won't be correct otherwise.
The output of the tReplicate is used to update some records in a database table AND to insert a few new records.
My solution would be to write the output that is replicated into a file and the read it twice. First when i want to update records and then again in order to insert new records. For the right order of execution i'd use the "on Subjob OK" events.

Is this the best solution or did i oversee a better way?

thanks!

Ten Stars

Re: Order of two flows with the same input

I'm not entirely sure what you are wanting to achieve with your data, but here are some things to think about.
1) If you are updating and then inserting from an identical data set, how is the distinction between the two types action on the database made? Are you updating where there is an existing record (via primary key) and then inserting the records that do not exist? If so, you need not carry out tow passes on this. You can use the "insert or update" or "update or insert" as the action on the database. Check out the Talend docs on the db output component you are using.