Five Stars

Oracle Database Tables into Csv files

Hello, I am trying to retrieve data from tables to registre it into csv files. Here are the components i am using :

tOracleInput_1 -> tFlowIterate_1 -> tOracleInput_2 -> tFileOutputDelimited_1

In tOracleInput_1 i am doing this query : "SELECT table_name FROM user_tables"

In tOracleInput_1 : "select * from "+((String)globalMap.get("table_name"))"

In tFileOutputDelimited_1 :  context.directory_output + ((String)globalMap.get("table_name")) + ".csv"

I gave the schema of tables like column1, column2, ... up to 50 because i don't know how many columns i have in each table.

The job is working, I am retrieving data in csv files. But my issue is that I want to have the columns name in my files but I don't know how to do it.

Also I don't know if I am doing it the right way, I just started working on talend 2 weeks ago.

Thank you.

PS : sorry for my english I am a french student

• Big Data
Tags (4)
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Five Stars

Re: Oracle Database Tables into Csv files

Thank you for your answer !
I found my solution in the comments of the article, the component I was looking for was tDernomalized.

It's working now.

Best regards,
Dregop
4 REPLIES
Nine Stars TRF
Nine Stars

Hi,

You can select the column names using user_tab_columns view on Oracle side.

This will give you the list of the columns defined for each table accessible from user_tables.

Now, having these names you can construct the header for each expected CSV file - as your are a student, I let you search a little how... Smiley Wink

Check the column order is the same that the order from "select *".

If yes, you can jump to the final step.

If not, you need to construct the list of column names (for exemple, "nom, prenom, age, adresse") to build the desired select using:

"SELECT " + ((String)globalMap.get("column_list")) + " FROM "+((String)globalMap.get("table_name"))"