One Star

No rows return from procedure - Unexpected EOF in prolog

Hi everyone again. I am new in Open Studio, so I have many questions Smiley Happy
I created web-service, which calling stored procedure in Oracle and returns records set.
If my procedure returns even 1 row - everything is ok. But when the result is empty - there is a error (in attach).
What shall I do?
Thank you.

• Data Integration
14 REPLIES
One Star

Re: No rows return from procedure - Unexpected EOF in prolog

Please, help me. I can modify a stored procedure, that its return in anyway something, but its a bad decision.
One Star

Hi, still no ideas?
Employee

Hi Alexandr
Sorry if this is obvious, but your web service flow needs to return something to the tESBResponse. Right now the tParseRecordSet is not passing anything to the tXMLmap. So naturally the tXMLmap throws an error because there is an unexpected eof. You need to handle the edge condition.
Ed
One Star

Ed, thank you very much! Please, can you give me a simple example? I am very very new in all this Smiley Happy
One Star

Please, help me Smiley Happy
One Star

Hi Alexander..

if your data flow may return no rows (e.g. they are filtered out), then you could try to use lookups in tmap / txmlmap. That way there is always a row returned, so XML is generated even with empty data
just next time pay attention - you see the "0 rows" at your flow debug information. If you are implementing web serivices using Talend jobs, you will get a row at the start (tESBRequest) and you need to pass a row (one row) to the tESBResponse or tESBFault on the same subjob.
lookup exmaples:
- http://techblog.appirio.com/2009/12/performing-lookups-and-transformations.html
- http://www.talendforge.org/tutorials/tutorial.php?idTuto=9#

good luck
gabriel
Employee