Multiple Instances of Parent job on different machines

Four Stars

Multiple Instances of Parent job on different machines

Hi,

I have a master job which creates a list of files from hdfs directory and stores them in different arrays. These arrays are then pass over to child job which will work on those files.

However, I would like to run master job in parallel on different machines but this will create a issue i.e. same list of files will be given to each child job on each machine.
It would be great if I can give unique files to child job to process.

Regards.

Employee

Re: Multiple Instances of Parent job on different machines

May I ask how are you running the same instance of parent job on multiple machines at the same time and how do you control them ? I know how we can do but want to know your method so that can suggest accordingly.

Nevertheless, if the primary focus is to pick and handle unique files by job1-serv1 , job2-server2 , job3-serv3 to avoud reprocess/clash then you can do this workaround.

1. i am assuming you already know the machine details before hand

2. job a: list all files in hdfs and insert the entries with random machine details (from 3 machine names say) . 2 fields , one filename , second machine name

3. in child job instances , make sure you setup server/hostname selective pick for files during listing/processing

4. this way every job+server combination will pick their tagged files and no duplicacy and clash.

Four Stars

I have a spark wrapper which launches same talend job on multiple executor at once.

Four Stars

Job A ( as mentioned in step 2) will also get launch on multiple machine let say 3 server. Then 3 instances will create their own lists from hdfs and will try to give it to child job for processing. It is possible this happens:

JOB-A
Server1 list
file1|server2

Server2 list
file1|server1

Server3 list
file1|server3