Migrate table from one database to another

One Star

Migrate table from one database to another

Hi there,
Newbie here.
I'm probably not getting one of the fundamental concepts of Talend Open Studio.
What I'm trying to do is migrate a single table from one database (MySQL) to another (PostgreSQL).
Both databases have a table with addresses, say AddressOld and AddressNew. The columns in AddressNew are different from those in AddressOld (different names and different types).
I'm dragging the source and destination table onto the canvas, then link them and drop a tMap on the link. No matter what I do, I am not able to get to a dialog where I can choose which field of AddressOld is to be mapped to which field of AddressNew.
No matter what I do I get either the metadata of AddressOld or AddressNew on both sides in the tMap editor, not AddressOld on the left hand side and AddressNew on the right hand side.
I've watched a tutorial where the Job Templates function is used from the Enterprise Edition, which does not exist in Open Studio. I've also read some threads that say with Open Studio you'd need to do one table at a time, which is perfectly fine with me.
Any help/pointers much appreciated.
regards,
Jan
One Star

Re: Migrate table from one database to another

Hi Jan
Welcome to Talend Community!
No.1: Set up the schema of tMysqlinput. Then link it with tMap.
No.2: Double click on tMap to open the mapping window.
No.3: Click the "+" button at the right side and add a new output(e.g. out1).
No.4: Set up the schema of out1 manually, even though you have created metadata->DB Connection for tPostgresqlOutput.
No.5: Map the columns from the left side to the right side by pressing and dragging one column or multi columns.
No.6: Link tmap with tPostgreSQL and click on 'Sync schema' button. Or make the same schema of out1 with metadata tPostgresqlOutput.
Regards,
Pedro
One Star

Hi Pedro,
Thanks for the welcome and the quick response!