One Star

Lookup OR condition in tMap

I have two inputs a and b
I need to do a lookup as the following OR condition
a.a1 = b.b1 or a.a1=b.b2 or a.a1=b.b3, if no match in all these 3 fields, go to reject file
Can I simply use one TMAP with one lookup to specify this condition to get the matched and reject?
Much appreiated
29 REPLIES
Seven Stars

Re: Lookup OR condition in tMap

Yes but see this bug.
You will either need a field in your lookup that can be set as your join to access the inner join rejects (if you have to, add a dummy field with a fixed value using tJavaRow so that value can be specified as your join in tMap)
or you will need an expression filter for your matched output flow and output rejects for the remainder.
One Star

Alevy,
Thanks so much for your information. I am new to Talend. Could you explain more about the second option? My request is to create an account list where a.a1 != b.b1 and a.a1!=b.b2 and a.a1!=b.b3.
Peter
Seven Stars

What data type are your fields: the correct syntax depends on the type and whether the fields are nullable?
One Star

all the 4 fileds are string(8)
only b.b1 not nullable
a.a1, b.b2, b.b3 nullable
Seven Stars

See the attached screen-print. Note that with this data structure Talend will output the "a" row for each "b" row that does not match i.e. multiplying it. This can't be avoided so to have only one instance of each "a" row that does not match any "b" row, you will need to follow the tMap with a tUniqueRow. That requires that each "a" row can be uniquely identified.
Alternatively, you would have to have three left-join lookups to "b" with your output condition being: b1.b1==null && b2.b1==null && b3.b1==null
Seven Stars

I should add that .equals is case-sensitive. Use .equalsIgnoreCase if you want case-insensitive matching.
Also, unless trailing spaces are important (in which case you need to be careful about the length of your strings), you should trim the incoming data (advanced option in tDBInput).
One Star