JMS Acknowledge Message // Best practice?

One Star

JMS Acknowledge Message // Best practice?

Hi everyone,
since I am relatively new to JMS and message oriented applications (worked more with SOAP so far), I'd like to ask you for your "best practice" advice on now to handle application acknowledge messages with TESB using JMS?
Here is what I think I would like to do:

System A sends Request message to System B
System B verifies the message and persists it
If something goes wrong here, System B sends a "dude, that one went wrong" message to System A, or an "Acknowledge"-Message if things went OK
System B now processes the message (which can take several hours or even days)
System B sends the response to System A

Is this scenario (especially step 3) common in JMS scenarios?
Would such ACK/NACK-Message be sent by means of a special Queue? Or would one use the regular OUT queue?
Are there standard message definitions for this type of ACK/NACK messages? Or would I have to invent them using XSD?
Thanks
Matt
Employee

Re: JMS Acknowledge Message // Best practice?

Matt,
these kind of interaction patterns are indeed commonly implemented using JMS. The kind of acknowledgements that you are talking about here are application level acknowledgments. And yes, you need to design them as part of your interaction / API design. They payloads can be modeled in XSDs if you have an XML payload. You may even use WSDLs to model your interactions but map it to JMS instead of HTTP as a transport. So to use your language: yes you have to "invent" them the same way you "invent" them in SOAP designing your input, your outputs, and your faults.
NOTE: don't confuse your acknowledge message with JMS acknowledgments. You cannot leave a JMS acknowledgement outstanding for weeks. The messaging broker will eventually abort the communication with the ESB / client.
Thomas
Thomas Steinborn
VP Product Management
One Star

THanks for your quick reply.