Iterate, filter, and merge into a single XML file

One Star

Iterate, filter, and merge into a single XML file

Hi everyone,
As I'm quite new to TOS, my question may be simple for you. Here is the job I'm trying to set up :
tFileList -(iterate)> tFileUnarchive -(iterate)> tFileInputXML -> tFilterRow -> tAdvancedFileOutputXML
Here is a description of this job :
I have a set of zipped XML files of the same structure. I want to open each one, parse it, look for a specific value for a node and i found, add it to a *single* output file.
And here is my probleme today : I can't find the way to have a single file : either the file generated overwrite the previous one and I have only one file or I generate several files with a different name, but their size may vary a lot...
If someone can help me to find out a solution, it would be great.
Thanks.
One Star

Re: Iterate, filter, and merge into a single XML file

Try a tUnite before the last step. It should combine the individual flows created by the iterate links into one flow for the output file.
I'm just a newbie with Talend myself, but I am solving a similar problem, and believe tUnite should work for you.
Regards from Vienna,
Richard Unger
One Star

I tried tUnite but it generated some errors (speaking about variable that should be final in order to be accessed from an inner class => I can understand why as a Java developer but the thing I don't understand is what are these variables and where I should specify them...).
Was your project a Java project ? If so, did you encounter the same (or some) errors ?
One Star

Hi
Yes, I am also generating for java - I'm using JasperETL 3.1.1, under linux.
I've been having a lot of problems with tUnite (see a seperate post I made a little earlier today).
In particular, I got compile errors when trying to use 2 tUnites in the same job, or when trying to access values from the row before the tUnite...
For the simple case you describe tUnite is working ok for me.