Four Stars

Important expressions in tFilterRow and tMap

Hi everyone,
I'm an extreme newbie with Talend + java so apologiez in advance... But I just entered the desperate phase..
I have a desire to switch from usual query tool to ETL. I'm used to mySQL syntax, and in order to make that move, I need a replacement for the most important functions I use regularly:
Date manipulation:
datediff(), year(), month(), week()
String manipulation:
substring(), substring_index(), concatenate()
Conditional expression:
case...when...then...else...end
Operators:
like, in (), between...and...
I decided to translate one query to a Talend job with output in console (tLogRow) as a good learning example. Query contains: join, multiple where conditions including scalar select subquery in where clause and aggregation. And I 've been stuck on the first tFilterRow for two days...Reason? Lack of knowledge of Java, because I'm not able to get the syntax for advanced mode of tFilterRow. I guess the same syntax shares tMap component. The trouble is that I am not able to find any source of documentation about the code that I can write inside. I downloaded Java language specification, but I can't seem to find anything inside..
For example, I need to translate this mySQL condition:
year(table1.entry_date) = 2010,
(date is in the format yyyy-mm-dd)
From what I picked browsing the forum it should look like this:
TalendDate.compareDate(input_row.entry_date, ????, "yyyy")
But, If I put ???? = 2010 I get an error that I'm using the integer instead of date datatype. If I put ???? = "2010" I get the error that I'm using the string instead of date datatype... So then, how do you quote a literal of "date" datatype ?
And more generaly can anyone point me to some source of documentation where I have listed all java methods I can use inside tFilterRow and tMap...
Big thanx!
6 REPLIES

Re: Important expressions in tFilterRow and tMap

hi,
this is just a suggestion from someone who has been in this position.