IF with isdate checking

Four Stars

IF with isdate checking

Hi there,

I am a newbie to talend. I want to ask you, how to do this item below:

•     I want to check the validity of a given date from an input table. If the date is a valid date, then the date will be inserted to output table. if it is not a valid date, then space will be inserted to the column. Both the input and output column are date field and my codes are as below:

TalendDate.isDate(TalendDate.formatDate("dd-MM-yyyy",row1.birthdate),"dd-MM-yyyy")?row1.birthdate:""

when rebuilding, i got this compilation error: >> Type mismatch: cannot convert from String to Date

please help me to solve this issue.

• I am also open to ideas on how to make this process easier using Talend.

Thank you in advance for helping me.

Sixteen Stars

Re: IF with isdate checking

I suspect that the data type of the row1.birthdate column is String and not Date. The formatDate method requires as Date. All you need to do is this....

TalendDate.isDate(row1.birthdate,"dd-MM-yyyy")?row1.birthdate:""

Of course, your row1.birthdate column will need to hold the date in "dd-MM-yyyy" format. I'd advise adding a tLogRow before the component you are using this logic in, so that you can see what the date format is of your String.

Seven Stars

Hi @azrylln

you getting this error due to formatDate function which return string data type  accept only Date type value. So as @rhall_2_0 suggest you can use isDate function directly with your birthdate or if your date is in different pattern use parseDate function.

Regards
Aashish
--
Don't forget to give kudos when a reply is helpful and click Accept the solution when you think you're good with it.
Sixteen Stars

@aashish wrote:

Hi @azrylln