One Star

How to work with multiple sheets of single Excel file using tMap

Hi, I am new to Talend and will greatly appreciate help from this forum.
I'm trying to use tMap in Open Studio to do data mapping from some Excel sheets to a number of Excel sheets with different schema.
1. I need to have all input Excel sheets in one single input Excel file. But I can't read data from Excel sheet if the Excel file contains multiple sheets. When I create a new FileExcel metadata, after linking the file to my Excel file and "Set sheets parameters" with only one sheet in Step 2 of 4, then in the next wizard page Step 3 of 4, I get the following error. For now I just put each input sheet into a separate Excel file, and it works for me (I can create metadata, pass all steps in New Excel File wizard, etc.)
Last column or First column parameter error
2. I need to write all output Excel sheets into one single output Excel file. I can do it as long as I write to one sheet per subjob. Actually within one subjob, I am able to map to two tFileOutputExcel components. However if I associate the two components to different sheets of the same Excel file, then I get the following errors. (I have set "Append the exist file" option properly -- BTW, it should be spelled as "Append the existing file".) So for now, in order to write to the two sheets of the same Excel file, I have to create another subjob; in one subjob map to one tFileOutputExcel , then in the second subjob map to the other tFileOutputExcel. BTW, if I associate the two components to different Excel files, it also works.
Exception in component tFileOutputExcel_8
jxl.read.biff.BiffException: The input file was not found
at jxl.read.biff.File.<init>(File.java:124)
at jxl.Workbook.getWorkbook(Workbook.java:221)
at jxl.Workbook.getWorkbook(Workbook.java:198)
So right now, I have my temporary workaround, but I expect more. While I'll continue with my learning and exploring, I'll be grateful to any quicky help from the forum.
Thanks.