One Star

How to perform Dynamic Lookup

Hi Members,
I am new to Talend and looking for help from you guys to resolve a problem.
I have a requirement like...
1. Fetch emp_id from emp table where emp_First_name = 'Alex' ...assume this returns me 20 records i.e. 20 different emp_id.
2. Now I need to pass this dynamically to other oracle stage where emp_id in (emp_id fetched from previous query).
select dept_id from dept where emp_id in (all 20 emp id fetched in query 1)
Is this possible in talend ?
Your help is deeply appreciated.
6 REPLIES
Seven Stars

Re: How to perform Dynamic Lookup

Easy:
tOracleInput "select emp_id from emp where emp_First_name='Alex'"
-row1-> tAggregateRow using list function (or tDenormalize) to concatenate the emp_ids into a comma-delimited String
-row2-> tFlowToIterate
-iterate-> tOracleInput "select dept_id from dept where emp_id in ("+globalMap.get("row2.emp_id")+")"
-row3-> ...
One Star

Thanks Alevy,
I have more than 300K records coming from source and concatenating it in the string may be performance bottleneck.
Is there any option available where i can pass select * from table A where A.colname = "input.colname"
where input.colname contains all the records and automatically checks for the value.
We have similar stage in DataStage and with Sparse lookup it can be done...Is there any similar thing available in Talend also ?
Community Manager

You can use tmap to do an inner join.
----------------------------------------------------------
Talend | Data Agility for Modern Business
One Star

Thanks Shong. Yes sure..I can do the inner join but the problem will be i will have to take all the record close to 2 million record to the buffer and then lookup with 300K of input records which will be time and space consuming .
Is the anyway to filter the record in main table table based on input records as a filter like we do in where clause of Sql ?
Community Manager

Hi
Here are three ways could achieve this request: