Five Stars

How to pass a string correctly

Hello,

Im pretty new to Talend and now i need help in a Job im trying to make at work. All it has to do is check if there are certain Files and if not, write a specific text (or better String) to a textfile. Im using a tJava component to check for the files, creating the String (called output) and a name for the textfile it has to create (called logname). If a boolean var is set true the job has a tFileTouch that takes the "logname" and creates the File. after that a FileOutputDelimited should write the String "output" to the textfile, but it doesnt work. Ive figured out that the information of the String are lost after the "if"-connection. So im wondering how the String must be passed to reach the fileoutput at the end.Unbenannt.png

I hope that i could explain my problem properly. It would be nice if someone could help me!

Greetings

Jan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Six Stars

Re: How to pass a string correctly

I'm going off what I understand from your explination.  For tSetGlobalVar, you are passing whatever you eventually need to write to the file from your tJavaRow component.  I am using fileName here, but not sure if that is what you're going to use.  I store this in the global var "outputKey" so this variable can be accessed using the code in my tFixedFlowInput  "Value" column which is then used as input to the tFileInputDelimeted.Untitled.png

Hope this helps.

4 REPLIES
Six Stars