How to move data from Oracle to Hive

One Star bas
One Star

How to move data from Oracle to Hive

I have a insurance database in oracle, for some reports queries will take very long time, i want to move that data to
Hive using Talend Big data platform. From hive i will use some reporting tool like tableau to generate reports.
How to move data from oracle to Hive using Talend ? I am new to talend.
Employee

Re: How to move data from Oracle to Hive

Hello,
There are three solutions to reach your goal:
1 -
* Read your data from Oracle using a tOracleInput and output the data in a delimited file.
* Use the tHiveCreateTable to create a table within Hive if the table doesn't exist yet.
* Use the tHiveLoad to load the local delimited file into your Hive table.
2 -
* Use the tHiveCreateTable to create a table within Hive if the table doesn't exist yet.
* Use the tSqoopImport in order to take advantage of MapReduce in order to load your table into a HDFS folder. Of course, the table created above should be created at the top of this HDFS folder.
3 - (Only in Talend Platform with BigData)
* You can create a MapReduce job using the tJDBCInput, a tMap to make the mapping and the tHDFSOutput in order to import your Oracle data within HDFS. Of course, a Hive table must be created at the top of the HDFS folder.
Does this answer help you?
Cheers,
Rémy.
One Star bas
One Star

Hi rdubois,
I think first step would help me, Should i try this in Talend Big data or Data integration studio ?
I have tried now tOracleConnection_1 > tOracleInput_1 > tFileOutputMSDelimited_1
I got the output file saved as .csv and data from oracle is present in it. Thank you.
Should i change the Field separator ; and Row separator \n to other for Hive ?
I have my hadoop and hive in cloudera distribution in my VMware.
Thank you very much for reply.
How to proceed next furthur ? To connect tFileOutputMSDelimited_1 to tHiveLoad ?