How to load data from PostgreSQL to Hive

Highlighted
Five Stars

How to load data from PostgreSQL to Hive

I am new to Talend, and I've been tasked (database course project) with loading data from a database (postgresql) and transfer it to a data warehouse (hive) via ETL, we were suggested to use Talend. However, I'm not sure how to transfer data from pgsql to hive, since there is no tHiveInput component to "map" directly the data from pgsql to Hive. I've also tried converting the data from pgsql to a .csv file and try to load this data with a tHiveLoad component but this didn't work either because I'm unable to connect the tFileOutput component to a tHiveload component.

So I'm unsure on what to do. TLDR, not sure how to load data from pgsql to hive via talend.

Employee

Re: How to load data from PostgreSQL to Hive

Hi,

One option is to read data from PostgresSQL and push it to HDFS layer using tHDFSOutput component.

Then read the file using using a tfileinputdelimited in a Bigdata batch job and push it into Hive layer by tHiveOutput.

There are other methods also but this is quite simple and straight forward method since you are doing Talend for first time.

Warm Regards,
Nikhil Thampi

Please appreciate our Talend community members by giving Kudos for sharing their time for your query. If your query is answered, please mark the topic as resolved :-)

Five Stars

Hi Nikhil,

I'm trying to implement your solution, what I have right now is simply my Postgres connection -> tHDFSOutput. However, I'm a bit confused on what to do next, should I connect my tHDFSOutput component to a tFileInput? Or is there another step in between HDFS and tFileInput?

Also, I was browsing my Hive components, and I don't have a tHiveOutput, not sure why.

Employee

Hi,