How to convert a string value of format “$$$$$$$$$$$cc" "0000000001600"?

Highlighted
Seven Stars

How to convert a string value of format “$$$$$$$$$$$cc" "0000000001600"?

Hello Talend Community

I am new to Talend and JAVA all together.

How would I convert a string value of format “$$$$$$$$$$$cc" "0000000001600" for example would convert to string 16.00 with expression builder in a tMap component.

I know I can get rid of the starting zeros with StringHandling.RIGHT(“000000000” + row1.amt)

I just need to figure out how to add the period so it's 16.00 and if I had an amount of 160.00 in my amt column how would I ensure the 1 wouldn't get trimmed and for 1600.00 I checked that my field and no amount goes over 9999.00. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

If there is a Java Script Function tool or documentation out there that help me understand the JavaScript expression builder syntax better that would be an added bonus!

Accepted Solutions
Employee

Re: How to convert a string value of format “$$$$$$$$$$$cc" "0000000001600"

Hi,

You can achieve the functionality by below flow. In the example, I am generating the data but in your case, you will be using input data flow.

image.pngdata flow

image.pngoutput for $16image.pngOutput for $1600

image.pngtmap output

Value for interim_amt_value in Var

row2.amt.replaceFirst("^0+(?!$)", "") 
Value for output_amount

Var.interim_amt_value.substring(0,Var.interim_amt_value.length()-2)+"."+Var.interim_amt_value.substring(Var.interim_amt_value.length()-2) 

Warm Regards,
Nikhil Thampi

Please appreciate our Talend community members by giving Kudos for sharing their time for your query. If your query is answered, please mark the topic as resolved :-)

All Replies
Employee

Hi,

You can achieve the functionality by below flow. In the example, I am generating the data but in your case, you will be using input data flow.

image.pngdata flow

image.pngoutput for $16image.pngOutput for $1600

image.pngtmap output