One Star

How do I 'unpivot' a table?

I'm trying to figure out how to implement this. I'm new to Talend and evaluating it for an upcoming project. The project has a bunch of legacy tables that will need to be unpivoted.
So, for example, I'd like to start with a table like this:
TrxId Name Amt1 Amt2 Amt3
1 Car 10 45 50
2 Truck 30 60 15
And end up with a table like this:
TrxId Name AmountType Amount
1 Car Amt1 10
1 Car Amt2 45
1 Car Amt3 50
2 Truck Amt1 30
2 Truck Amt2 60
2 Truck Amt3 15
Note that TrxId and Name are 'passed through' while the Amt1,2,3 columns are pivoted on a new column AmountType.
I'm not sure if I'm using the exact terminology here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

• Data Integration
16 REPLIES
One Star

Re: How do I 'unpivot' a table?

If this doesn't exist I'd help make it a component.
The pseudo looks like:
Let the user select the columns to be unpivoted.
Let the user specify a name for the . (AmountType in above example).
Let the user sepcify a name for the . (Amount in the above example).
For Each inputRow
{
For Each ColumnToUnpivot
{
Create a new OutputRow (schema: input - ColumnsToUnpivot + 2 new columns )
Pass values for columns not in ColumnsToUnpivot from inputRow through to outputRow.
Set the value of 'TypeColumn' to ColumnToUnpivot's name.
Set the value of 'ValueColumn' to ColumnToUnpivot's value.
}
}
Can someone help me get from A -> B on this one? Like I said I'm new to Talend but I don't imagine this would be that hard.
Community Manager

Hello
Here comes a Java scenario, please see the screenshots.
Input file:

TrxId;Name;Amt1;Amt2;Amt3
1;Car;10;45;50
2;Truck;30;60;15
3;Shong;10;20;30

Result:
Starting job topic_4500 at 11:14 24/10/2008.
1|Car|Amt1|10
1|Car|Amt2|45
1|Car|Amt3|50
2|Truck|Amt1|30
2|Truck|Amt2|60
2|Truck|Amt3|15
3|Shong|Amt1|10
3|Shong|Amt2|20
3|Shong|Amt3|30
Job topic_4500 ended at 11:14 24/10/2008.

Feel free to post your question!
Best regards
shong