Help with BigDecimal/Double and writing Flat Files

One Star

Help with BigDecimal/Double and writing Flat Files

Hello!
I'll appreciate some help from the forum members.
I am writing a simple routine that is reading from a CSV file that has a bunch of values such as sales, promotion $ etc. I've defined all of these as BigDecimal (12,2). I am new to Java but this is the type I read one should define currency values with. Then in a TMAP, I am doing a simple calculation such as Sales * 3.14. This gives me an error saying that "*" is incompatible with BigDecimal. Why is that? What is a work around?
I tried this with DOUBLE and it works but sometimes it gives me values such as 8.1200000001 in the flat file even though the output mask is DOUBLE(12,2). I expected it to be rounded or truncated at 2 decimal places. This probably is a simple question but I was not able to find a ROUND function that worked with BIG DECIMAL or DOUBLE and will round down to 2 decimal places.
I am used to Informatica which kind of shields me from the internals and has plentiful functions. In this case, I would have defined the output file as DECIMAL (12,2) and used High Precision to get my results or used the ROUND(Sales, 2). Note that I use Informatica at my job but I am a fan of Talend. Though I tend to compare these 2 quite a bit when it comes to usability etc.
Any insights are welcome. I am aware that I need to get familiar with Java :-)
Thanks.
Sean
One Star

Re: Help with BigDecimal/Double and writing Flat Files

Hi Sean,
calculating with Double or double is not a good idea if you work with money Smiley Wink
Looks like you used BigDecimal. To calculate with BigDecimal you could use for example:
rowN.yourBigDecimal.multiply(3.14);

You can find more information in the Java API BigDecimal.
Good practice in Java is to multiply your value with the number of internal decimal places and use an integer.