One Star

Help connecting to a postgresql Database

I am brand new to Talend, and watched a youtube video on how to connect to an Amazon Redshift postgresql database using the metadata on Talend. When I press the "check connection" button, it says the connection was successful. When I go to retrieve the schema, it says the connection failed. When I go back to edit my connection, my database "string of connection" is changed. Any idea what's happening? Thanks
3 REPLIES

Re: Help connecting to a postgresql Database

Hi jmontgomery,

On which official version did you get that? Is there any error log which is located in <Talend Studio installation path>/workspace/.metadata/.log ?

Best regards
Sabrina
--
Don't forget to give kudos when a reply is helpful and click Accept the solution when you think you're good with it.
One Star

xdishi, I am running version 6.0. Here is the error log I am receiving when trying to retrieve the schema(note, when I initially set up the connection to the database, it says the connection is good, it is only after this does the connection not work anymore):
Connection failure, check the database settings or contact your database administrator.
  java.lang.RuntimeException: org.postgresql.util.PSQLException: The connection attempt failed.
      at org.talend.core.model.metadata.builder.database.JDBCDriverLoader.getConnection(JDBCDriverLoader.java:164)
      at org.talend.core.model.metadata.builder.database.ExtractMetaDataUtils.connect(ExtractMetaDataUtils.java:1081)
      at org.talend.core.model.metadata.builder.database.ExtractMetaDataFromDataBase.testConnection(ExtractMetaDataFromDataBase.java:314)
      at org.talend.metadata.managment.repository.ManagerConnection.check(ManagerConnection.java:352)
      at org.talend.metadata.managment.repository.ManagerConnection.check(ManagerConnection.java:301)
      at org.talend.repository.ui.wizards.metadata.table.database.SelectorTableForm$8.run(SelectorTableForm.java:1100)