One Star

Getting a random value from DB table/column

Hi all,
I am new to TOS and Java and I am trying to "extend" my tRowGenerator component to use a function defined in routines that would connect to a DB defined in Metadata and randomly get a value from a table/column. My "code" is below (no laughing, guys, be nice). This function would be defined for a column in the Map Editor of the tRowGenerator component.
I know that this way is not efficient at all because for each row created in tRowGenerator, a connection to the DB is created. opened, data read and then the connection is closed and destroyed. I would love to be able to persist the first connection and reuse it for the rest of the rows to be created by the tRowGenerator component.
I tried dropping a tOracleConnection linked to the tRowGenerator via OnComponentOK, but I could not get the connection passed to my function with (java.sql.Connection) globalMap.get("conn_" + "tOracleConnection_1") but I get a null pointer error, as if the connection object never gets created.
How can I get access to a connection object that points to the object that, I assume, must be created by dropping the tOracleConnection component? I was thinking that I could pass the connection object as a parameter to my function like this: (java.sql.Connection) globalMap.get("conn_" + "tOracleConnection_1").
Any ideas?
Many thanks
GD
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
public static String getRandomDBValue(String tableName, String columnName) {
//java.sql.Connection DBConn,

String returnValue = null;
Statement lStatement = null;
ResultSet lRS = null;

String lSQLString = "select distinct " + columnName + " from (select distinct " + columnName + " from " +tableName + " order by dbms_random.value ) where rownum=1";

try {
java.lang.Class.forName("oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver");