FlatFile to Database Table comparison

One Star

FlatFile to Database Table comparison

Hi,
I am new to Talend. Actually just downloaded it today and started looking in to it.
What I would like to know is if it is possible to do a flat file to database table comparison using Talend DI. I want to be able to compare the flat file and the db table row by row and would like it to point out any difference in any row/column. Is this possible? If yes, please let me know how.

Re: FlatFile to Database Table comparison

Hi,
What I would like to know is if it is possible to do a flat file to database table comparison using Talend DI. I want to be able to compare the flat file and the db table row by row and would like it to point out any difference in any row/column

For your requirement, you should use: tFileInputDelimited-->tMap-->tFileOutDelimited
t<DB>Input-->lookup-->
In tMap, make inner join for your comparison source(a flat file and table) and set the Catch lookup inner join reject value as "true". The output result should be difference/changed data.
Best regards
Sabrina
--
Don't forget to give kudos when a reply is helpful and click Accept the solution when you think you're good with it.
One Star

Thanks Sabrina for the reply. I tried it and it seems to work. Attached below are the screenshots. I just wanted to check with you if we need to link every column in the main and lookup tables between which we want data differences to be identified. If columns are not linked then the data differences between them wont be captured in the reject is it? Please clarify.

Also, is there a way in DI where in i can generate a comparison report whih says how much % of data between 2 tables match? I did a bit of research and found out that i can do this in DQ. But, I wasnt able to find a way to import this job from DI in to DQ or create a new job in DQ for comparing flat file to table comparison and then generate a report out of it. Please help.
Regards,
Aks
One Star