Extract entire XML element (with subelements)

One Star

Extract entire XML element (with subelements)

Hello,
I'm new to Talend (just a week) and I have a situation that I cannot solve. I'm working with XML files, trying to read and write stuff.
Description of the problem:
I have and XML that can have 3 types of elements (not at the same time) at the same location in the tree.
For example:
<bill>
<product>
<price>22</price>
<book>Bla bla1</book>
</product>
<product>
<price>23</price>
<wine>Bla bla2<wine>
</product>
<product>
<price>2</price>
<cheese>Bla bla3<cheese>
</product>
</bill>

What I want to do is to cycle through the <product>, filter the results and output the entire XML without the products that are <book>, for example.
The idea is that I cannot output the info normally using a schema because at the same location in <product> I can have <book> or <wine> or <cheese>.
The output XML would look like this:
<bill>
<product>
<price>23</price>
<wine>Bla bla2<wine>
</product>
<product>
<price>2</price>
<cheese>Bla bla3<cheese>
</product>
</bill>

I already cycle through products and I've already put in the condition.
I've also already tried to extract the node <product> as a 'Document' and output it to the other XML, but it doesn't work and throws this exception:
Error on line 2 of document  : Content is not allowed in prolog. Nested exception: Content is not allowed in prolog.

Can I extract the <product> element with all its subelements and output it to another XML?
I'm kinda out of ideas. The only thing I can think of is to copy the entire XML file and somehow delete the nodes that I don't want, but that would only be a temporary solution. I still want to "compose" the output XML.
So, do you have any suggestions?
P.S.: Any idea is appreciated.
One Star

Re: Extract entire XML element (with subelements)

Hi,
When reading the source xml, make sure you click the "Get node" checkbox in the tFileInputXML (see screenshot)