Export data from a SQL file to a postgresql database

One Star

Export data from a SQL file to a postgresql database

Hello,
I have a problem ..
I have got a SQL file wich contains some queries in order to insert data in a database (this file is obtained by a dump from phpMyAdmin). Those data come from MySQL database and I have to integrate them to my Postgresql database..
I dont know which component I can use to do that : I have the "tposgresqlrow" but I don't know how to use it.
I'm new in Talend, so if someone can help me ...
Sorry for my English witch it would be very bad..
Thanks
Seventeen Stars

Re: Export data from a SQL file to a postgresql database

I guess you mean with the word query also insert statements.
You can use the component tSQLScriptParser + tPostgresqlRow to do this job.
http://www.talendforge.org/exchange/index.php?eid=724&product=tos&action=view&nav=1,1,1
tSQLScriptParser -- iterate --> tPostgresqlRow: use as SQL code only this: ((String) globalMap.get("tSQLScriptParser_1_STATEMENT_SQL"))
This component can read the script from a file or from the input field.
Please keep in mind, the component parse the whole script at once and keeps all statements in the memory.
If you have a dump, this could contains millions of insert statements. To avoid memory space problems I recommend splitting a huge dump file into smaller files with about 1000 statements per file. You should create a job processing one file and another job iterating through all files and calling the one-file-job.
One Star

Thanks for the quick response!
But I don't have the component tSQLScriptParser in my Palette...
I'm working with Talend Open Studio for Data Integration version 5.3.1
One Star

Sorry I didn't have understand that the component tSQLScriptParser was a custom component..
I install this component like it's described here: https://help.talend.com/search/all?query=Installing+a+custom+component&content-lang=en