Doing an inner join using a tMap component

Highlighted
Four Stars

Doing an inner join using a tMap component

I'm new to talend and looking to join two tables. I used the tMap component and it worked fine, but then I looked into it. I have two tables, lets say table A and table B. When I drag them into the designer they're recognized as MySqlInputs which is what I want. However, when I click the actual table components, I can see the query that they're running. Both tables are just running a SELECT fields FROM table query. 

From what I've read online you would take these two components and route them into the tMap. However, this doesnt really make sense to me. Why am I selecting ALL of the rows from both tables, then letting talend do the join? It would be significantly faster if I just told the actual database to do the join, and then play around with the results. Is there anyway to join two or more tables without having to SELECT every single record, then let talend handle the joining with a tMap component?

Accepted Solutions
Employee

Re: Doing an inner join using a tMap component

Hi,

Your thoughts are absolutely correct and it is a common mistake done by many ETL developers. Any ETL tool including Talend is not a replacement for database table joins. So if you are pretty sure that your dataset is a join of two or more tables, feel free to write the SQL joining all the required tables and add the query inside tDBInput component. You can add one of the tables you are using for joining in the table name component of tDBInput.