Four Stars

Data Warehouse ETL - loading from multiple databases and inserting them into a DW.

Dear Talend Community.

I recently found Talend and started using it and I am still very new to the whole Data Warehousing concept so please bear with me..

Suppose I owned two companies that sell different goods. Both got their own databases, which both look slightly different.
To get to the point quickly, I got these two tables from both of my databases which are called product group:

The product groups for one database are:

1. Furniture
  2. Electronics
  3. Kitchen

The product groups for the other database are:

1. Bread and buns
  2. Drinks
  3. Fruit and vegetables
  4. Staple food
  5. Milk products
  6. Meat
  7. Frozen products
  8. Sweets
  9. Household

Each product in each of the databases correspond to exactly one productgroup. (Bread = Bred and buns; Chair = Furniture)

I also got my data warehouse, which is just another database which I created based on a star schema that can hold all data from both databases. 
This data warehouse also got a table called product group.
I would like to load the data from both databases into the data warehouse.
So I should have 12 columns after loading the data into the warehouse, with Id's 1 to 12..?
How can I create such an ETL process? I tried around with tMap's but could not get the desired 12 columns as result.

A follow-up question would then be: what happens if both databases add one more product group?
Suppose DB1 adds "Paintings" and DB2 adds "Care Product".
What happens to the data in the data warehouse? DB1 will have 4. Paintings which will be a duplicate key because 4 will

already exist as bread and buns, which was added from an earlier ETL Process?
Am I understanding something wrong, or thinking wrong about it? I just dont get it how to do it, please help Smiley LOL

Thanks for helping
Vulkanos

1 REPLY
Four Stars

Re: Data Warehouse ETL - loading from multiple databases and inserting them into a DW.