Seven Stars

Data Integration Talend studio ElasticSearch ?

Hello everyone

I am completely new to Talend, trying to learn the product, this is my first post here.

I have installed Data Integration Talend Open Studio version 6.4.1 on Windows 10 64-bit.

I need to get (i.e. read) data from ElasticSearch.

The Talend DI documentation PDF files which I downloaded do not mention ElasticSearch and there is no reference to tElasticSearch which I saw mentioned when I "googled" for a solution.

Can I use Talend DI (the "free version") to read/select/get/extract data from ElasticSearch ?

If so, could you give me some pointers to documentation or to other posts?

Thank you in advance

YuriB

Melbourne

Australia

Tags (2)
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Six Stars

Re: Data Integration Talend studio ElasticSearch ?

Hey YuriB, hope you're well.

I found some information on Google that this component is only available on Talend Open Studio for Big Data. Have you tried this one?

Thanks

Douglas

Employee

Hi,

We have tElasticSearchInput and tElasticSearchOutput component in Big Data Spark Batch and Spark Streaming.  You need to use a paid subscription Big Data or Realtime Big Data edition to get these components.  We do not have ElasticSearch in traditional DI product.

Employee

Hi,

Of course, you can potentially write this code and achieve connectivity with a Java API to ElasticSearch and Code Routines in Talend Studio.  Your Code Routine will wrap the ElasticSearch API.  

However, how complex will it be and how much time/effort it will take to write? I don't know.  And remember about Avro Schemas etc that you may need to handle.

If you need to process 5 -10 million rows per hour, then your best approach is to do this in Spark Batch/Streaming.  This way you can leverage the capability of a hadoop/spark cluster which can enable to meet this requirements.

10 REPLIES
Six Stars

Hey YuriB, hope you're well.