Five Stars

Check the tRestClient response

Hello everybody!

I'm a newbie in Talend ESB Studio and I have a doubt.

I use the tRestClient component for call a REST api. The api always status code 200 (ok) and the return message where I found the result of the operation (sucess or fault).

So, what's the best way to check this conditions end returns the result to use of my job? 

Anybody can help me please?

Thank's in advance!

• ESB
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Eleven Stars

Re: Check the tRestClient response

I didn't realise you have a Java background. That does change things a little. Unfortunately a lot of people asking questions in here do not have Java, so I generally start with non-Java solutions.

Given what you have said, I would achieve you goal in this way....

1) Connect a tFlowToIterate to your tRestClient. This will create globalMap (HashMap) variables out of the columns returned. The key to the values will be in the format {row}.{column}. So if you row is called "row1" and your column name is "body", the key to the value would be "row1.body". You would get to it using ...

globalMap.get(row1.body)

You will need to cast it to the correct type to use it.

2) You have a choice here. Either you can connect from the tFlowToIterate to a tJava (using the Iterate link) and do some Java String manipulation to get the success or failure status THEN load that to the globalMap and use in RunIf conditional logic. OR connect 2 RunIf connectors to your tFlowToIterate, then carry out the String manipulation AND conditional logic within your RunIf conditions. All Java String manipulation functionality is open to you, it is just a choice of which way you want to do it.

3) Connect your RunIfs to appropriate tRestResponse components

Rilhia Solutions
10 REPLIES
Community Manager

Hi
tRestClient returns a Document, link it to tXMLMap and extract the status data (success or fault).
tRestClient--main--tXMLMap--out1--->tLogRow

Regards
Shong