Capture table name after it's been created

Four Stars

Capture table name after it's been created

I'm new to Talend.  I have a situation where I need to build a temporary SQL table with this naming convention:

xxxxxx_YYMMDD_HHMMSS.

I haven't been successful at creating a context variable containing YYMMDD_HHMMSS, so I took another path and just created a table with 

"xxxxxx_"+TalendDate.getDate("YYMMdd_HHmmss")" in the table name for my chosen DB connector.

I do need to reference this table elsewhere in my job.  How can I retrieve that table name for use in subsequent/child jobs?

Thanks for any help you could give.

Employee

Re: Capture table name after it's been created

Hi,

Since you need to refer the data in other areas of the job, you will have to go for context variable as it is the most easy way to do it.

You can assign the same values to a context variable by adding a tjava and assigning like below.

context.temp_table_name="xxxxxx_"+TalendDate.getDate("YYMMdd_HHmmss")" ;

If you are facing any issue while doing it, please share the screen shots of the job flow, component screenshot where error is coming and we can take it from there.

Warm Regards,
Nikhil Thampi

Please appreciate our Talend community members by giving Kudos for sharing their time for your query. If your query is answered, please mark the topic as resolved :-)

Nine Stars

Hi @nikhilthampi,

Greetings of the day,

I have a query, should tjava code(context variable code)be invoked before or after the temp table is created ???

How exactly should the flow be?? And if the context variable is being used almost everywhere in the Job then should all the subjobs also be connected to the major flow??

Thanks,

Ankit

Employee

Hi Ankit,

Since Context variable is holding the database table name, it has to store the value before temp table creation.