One Star

CLOB on ORACLE, can't move CLOB if size > 4000

Hello all, I'm new in Talend and I have great expectation for this tool.
Here is version I use :
TOS 5.4.1
ORACLE DB IN & OUT 9i
My problem in when I trying to copy datas from one db to another, no problem even with CLOB but if size of CLOB content is greater to 4000 I have an error like :
java.sql.SQLException: La taille des données est supérieure à la taille max. pour ce type: 4554
I have read all subject on this forum with clob keyword but still can't success on it.
ORACLE IN is Object / CLOB et OUT is String / CLOB. I use a tJavaFlex with code I found here.
Thanks for helping me.
4 REPLIES
Seventeen Stars

Re: CLOB on ORACLE, can't move CLOB if size > 4000

Yes, the problem is Talend currently does not handle CLOBs and therefor they will be processed as VARCHAR fields. A VARCHAR2 field in Oracle is limited to 4000 characters.
The only way at the moment is a user component from Talend Exchange tOracleTableTransfer. This component copies the data from one table to another without inspecting the columns, it use always the Objects and this could work.
I am working on CLOB and BLOB support for Talend.
One Star

Yes, the problem is Talend currently does not handle CLOBs and therefor they will be processed as VARCHAR fields. A VARCHAR2 field in Oracle is limited to 4000 characters.
The only way at the moment is a user component from Talend Exchange tOracleTableTransfer. This component copies the data from one table to another without inspecting the columns, it use always the Objects and this could work.
I am working on CLOB and BLOB support for Talend.

Thanks for your quick answer, I have try this component but I have still errors like : "Invalid Character constant" on tFixedFlowInput. If I try directly tOracleTableTransfer, some rows failed (table or view does not exist), probably those with more than 4000 characters.
Thanks anyway, I wish Talend will support CLOB soon.
One Star