Binary File as Input

One Star

Binary File as Input

I am a newbie to TOS and Java, but am learning quickly. I have been trying to figure out how to use a binary file as an input and then parse out the different fields in the file. I have found a couple posts about binary files, but none of them answered my question. I don't see any file input components that would work for a binary file. I looked at the tFileInputFullRow, but there isn't a distinguishable row delimiter, so that was out. I was given a Java program that parses the file, but not sure how to incorporate that into an input. Is there a way that I could modify this program to use it is an input source that pulls in the binary file or do I need to convert the file outside of Talend into a "temporary" file and then pull that file in using Talend? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
One Star

Re: Binary File as Input

Hi
Welcome to Talend Community!
I'm afraid there isn't any component to extract fields from binary file directly now.
For your request, the resolution may be a little complex.
First step, create routines and hard code in it.
The Java code below is just an example.
Maybe you have to change some logic.
1010111 1101000 1100001 1110100 100000 1100001 
100000 1101110 1101001 1100011 1100101 100000 1100100
1100001 1111001 100001
//TESTED BINARY DATA

public static String toStr(String binStr){
String[] tempStr = StrToStrArray(binStr);
char[] tempChar = new char;
for(int i = 0; i < tempStr.length; i++){
tempChar = toChar(tempStr);
}
return String.valueOf(tempChar);
}
private static String[] StrToStrArray(String str){
return str.split(" ");
}
private static char toChar(String binStr){
int[] temp = binStrToIntArray(binStr);
int sum = 0;

for(int i = 0; i < temp.length; i++){
sum += temp << i;
}

return (char)sum;

}
private static int[] binStrToIntArray(String binStr){

char[] temp = binStr.toCharArray();
int[] result = new int;

for(int i = 0; i < temp.length; i++){