discard rows with a number of null columns

Highlighted
Six Stars

discard rows with a number of null columns

Hi all,

I'm new to Talend. 

Here is my requirement: 

we need to discard rows of a table when the 25% of their columns is null.

E.g.:

-------------------------------

col1 | col2 | col3 | col4

row1    null  | 123  | null  | null

row2    456  | 123  | 789  | 000

row1 will be discarded 

row2 is good and pass the validation

The steps would be:

1) calculate the number of columns of a table

2) for every row, to check which column is null and count the number of null columns

3) if that number exceed the limit, then discard the row

Any suggestion on how to achieve it?

So far, I know how to get the first step, executing a SQL query.

For the second step I know the tMap component can be used to check rows, but then how to compare the numbers of columns dinamically? Maybe using a tJava component and writing code?

Thanks,

Nick

Tags (1)

Accepted Solutions
Six Stars

Re: discard rows with a number of null columns

hi Nikhil, thanks for your suggestions! I didn't implement your solution even if it makes sense to me. Anyway, with the support of Talend we were able to figure that out. In the example above I talked of a single table, but in the future we want something dynamic that can be applied to many tables. I've attached an image which contains the solution (don't know how to upload it in line). Hope it can be helpful to someone else. Nick

All Replies
Employee

Hi Nick,

You have specified that you can get the first step using an SQL query. Get this value from DB and store it in a context variable of Talend. Since you are processing this exercise for only one table, another option is to load the context variable value directly.