One Star

As a Novice where do I start?

I do a lot of data cleansing in my current role. This involves processing tens of million of prospect and Customer data records on quarterly basis to be loaded onto a marketing database for direct mail and telemarketing campaigns.
I use a software call Cygnus which is a mail sorting software but also not a bad ETL tool. I recently came across Talend in a MDM migration programme at work - also this may be used in a new enterprise data warehouse function that my company is setting up.
I like to teach myself Talend and obtain the necessary certifications. However after reading a lot on the Talend webpage still unsure where to start.
My skills include writing microsoft sql server scripts for queries and I have basic knowledge of how database are built/implemented
My aim in the next 12 months is to be a competent Talend user and to get a job that require such skill set
Can you please help?

• MDM
10 REPLIES
Ten Stars

Re: As a Novice where do I start?

The best way to learn Talend (in my opinion) is to find a personal data integration use case and build a solution using Talend in your spare time. You rarely get time at work to explore a product like Talend, but if you have a personal problem you want to solve, spending the time learning Talend becomes worthwhile and it is a massive motivating factor.
I have been using Talend for years and I still find personal use cases for Talend. In the last year I have used it to hook up "internet of things" devices with each other at home, have retrieved personal social network data from the network, have linked Twitter to my Sonos speaker system,...I could go on. 
I have a few tutorials on my website (click on my company logo) and several of them are more aligned to personal use than business use. 
One thing I would recommend is to get to grips with Java. It is not essential for Talend, but it opens a lot of doors if you want to do some more complicated stuff with it.
Rilhia Solutions