tMysqlOutput rows have Null string and date values, 0 integer values

One Star

tMysqlOutput rows have Null string and date values, 0 integer values

Hi,
I am new to Talend, and am a bit confused.

I have been able to create ?Job Design? wherein 5 tables (all using TMySqlinput component) from one MySql DB (accessed via metadata > Db connections) are linked together via a tMap and the tMap in turn is linked out to single destination table (using TMySqlOutput component) in another MySql DB (accessed via metadata > Db connections). Then I have mapped the fields from the source 5 tables as expressions into the single destination table.

When I run the Job, it runs OK, and it processes 2402 rows, but all rows in destination table (in 2nd MySql DB) have 0 for integer values and NULL for string values and date values!

To troubleshoot, I even created a tLogrow and mapped some fields form the source tables to it, and the Job execution panel shows those fields as Null also!

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks

Re: tMysqlOutput rows have Null string and date values, 0 integer values

first make sure your tMap join is successful, then check the source data for those rows.

a quick check here would be to check "inner join" on your tMap input tables. if you get less than 2402 rows, your join is not succeeding.
One Star

I made sure the "inner join" is ON for all input tables, and still get NULL vlaues. In fact, before I built this job, I wrote the MySql query in the native DB, and it also returns 2402 rows, all with proper values. Is there a way yo see the resutls of the query (into source/input tables) inside the tMap or anywhere in the Job?

Could a wrong version of Java isntalled on my desktop result in tMySqlinput component to not work properly?

Thanks
Community Manager

Hello
Before tMap, using a tLogRow to see if select the correct records from db, eg:
tMyInput--tLogRow--tMap----
or on tMysqlInput, open the sql builder and run the query, review the result.