[resolved] Null pointer on tMap expression

Highlighted
One Star

[resolved] Null pointer on tMap expression

I'm new to talend so please let me know if I'm going about this the right way.
So far I have a job that is going from MySqlInput ---> tMap -----> Salesforce

In the tMap expression editor I'm trying to recreate the following part of the query to label time zones:

CASE brZone
WHEN '1' THEN 'America/Los_Angeles'
WHEN '2' THEN 'America/Denver'
WHEN '3' THEN 'America/Chicago'
WHEN '4' THEN 'America/New_York'

From looking through everything I could find on these forums relating to cases, I came up with this:

row1.brZone.equals("1")?"America/Los_Angeles":row1.brZone.equals("2")?"America/Denver":row1.brZone.equals("3")?"America/Chicago":row1.brZone.equals("4")?"America/New_York"Smiley Sadrow1.brZone == null)?" ":" "

(all the fields are strings, not integers or anything else)
I guess I'm dealing with the null incorrectly? Since I keep getting a null pointer exception. The problem is, some of the data does not have a time zone associated with it and that's what I believe is tripping me up.

I'm also not sure how to end these expressions, thats also something I couldn't find. Is that the default case if none the other conditions are met?

Thank you!

Re: [resolved] Null pointer on tMap expression

Hi,
row1.brZone.equals("1")?"America/Los_Angeles":row1.brZone.equals("2")?"America/Denver":row1.brZone.equals("3")?"America/Chicago":row1.brZone.equals("4")?"America/New_York"Smiley Sadrow1.brZone == null)?" ":" "

You should consider the situation of "null" at first.
Please see my screenshots for details

Best regards
Sabrina
--
Don't forget to give kudos when a reply is helpful and click Accept the solution when you think you're good with it.
One Star

Ah, thank you so much!
That fixed it right up. Smiley Happy

Hi,

You are welcome, feel free post your issue on forum.

Best regards
Sabrina
--