[resolved] Integer Conversion Problem

One Star

[resolved] Integer Conversion Problem

I am a noob to Talend but thanks to the forums I am learning quickly.  I am in T-Map and having a conversion problem:

TalendDate.diffDate(TalendDate.parseDate("yyyy-MM-dd",row1.Patient_Birth_Dt), TalendDate.parseDate("yyyy-MM-dd",row1.Date_of_Service))

My dates are in this format in the original file 20140404 (yyyy-MM-dd) as a string VARCHAR(8)
I have tried Integer.ParseInt but it's not working.  

I am trying to calculate Age.  It is an INT on the MySQL table.

As a side note, how would I do an UPDATE query for the row in the mapping?  I tried using the Tmysql-Row function but it didn't seem to work.  I would rather it work in T-Map if possible.
One Star

Re: [resolved] Integer Conversion Problem

First of all the 20140404 date is not in yyyy-MM-dd format... it should be yyyyMMdd.

Second... the diffDate works like date1-date2 which means the first date should be the later one, otherwise you'll get a negative value... in your case should be current date minus date of birth:
TalendDate.diffDate(TalendDate.parseDate("yyyyMMdd",row1.Date_of_Service), TalendDate.parseDate("yyyyMMdd",row1.Patient_Birth_Dt))

Third... using the diffDate you should specify what you want to get... difference in days, months, years etc. I'm not sure what is the default if you don't specify it but I would think days. For your case the expression would be:
TalendDate.diffDate(TalendDate.parseDate("yyyyMMdd",row1.Date_of_Service), TalendDate.parseDate("yyyyMMdd",row1.Patient_Birth_Dt), "yyyy")

Fourth point... the data type returned by the diffDate function is long and your output field is integer so you need to convert it like this:
(int)TalendDate.diffDate(TalendDate.parseDate("yyyyMMdd",row1.Date_of_Service), TalendDate.parseDate("yyyyMMdd",row1.Patient_Birth_Dt), "yyyy")

I think this should work for you...
One Star