Using tJoin. Bugs are crawling all around!

One Star

Using tJoin. Bugs are crawling all around!

Hello,

I'm new to Talend and have been trying to perform the same task with different approaches in order to better learn how to use ETLs in general.

I had a rather simple problem that needed near 6 joins and to sum aggregations.
- I first wrote the SQL "INSERT ... SELECT ..." code without any problem.
- Then I tried using the bricks that Talend proposes so I had multiple tJoins in cascade, with a final tAggregate.
- Finally I tried connecting all my tables with a single tMap, with a final tAggregate.
The first and the last solutions worked great in Talend. (tMap seems to be a powerful component).
On the other hand, tJoin are a nightmare for beginners!

I've used the simplest test possible (2 tables, a tJoin, and an output) in order to experience the usage of tJoin.
In short I noticed the following :
- Edit the schema like this :
* Select all the columns from the main table, you may trim some columns from the bottom, but don't make holes and don't change their order!
* Add some columns from the lookup table (I didn't experiment enough to be able to give more advises)
- Check the first checkbox and add the mapping for the columns of the lookup table.
(The "++" button adds too many useless rows, I didn't understand this step very well.)
If you do not follow the above, you will see that :
- Affectations are shifted, resulting in incorrect data and in the best case in compilation errors (so you can spot the problem).
- You won't have any data in the joined columns.

Such behavior makes me think of a bug (especially for the first item) in the code generation.
I also can't see the purpose of the first checkbox. Why doing a join if not to fill the eventually added output columns from the lookup table.
I think the edition of the schema could be improved (for this regard) by keeping track of the source tables.